UMHDI Research Team

University of Wisconsin

Jason Fischbach

Food and Energy Woody Crops Specialist
UW-Extension
jason.fischbach@ces.uwex.edu

Program roles:  UMHDI Co-Leader, germplasm improvement, outreach education, industry development, agronomics

Amaya Atucha

Assistant Professor of Horticulture
UW-Extension Fruit Crop Specialist
atucha@wisc.edu

Program roles:  agronomics, plant management

Dave Bohnhoff

Professor of Agricultural Engineering
UW-Madison, Department of Biologial Systems Engineering
bohnhoff@wisc.edu

Program roles:  harvest technology, post-harvest processing

Mike Demchik

Professor of Forestry
UW-Steven's Point, College of Natural Resources
mdemchik@uwsp.edu

Program roles:  American hazelnut, genetic diversity, phenolics

Michelle Miller

Assistant Director
UW-Madison, Center for Integrated Agricultural Systems
mmmille6@wisc.edu

Program roles:  sociology, supply chain development, sustainability

Pam Porter

Research Program Manager
UW-Madison, Center for Integrated Agricultural Systems
pporter@wisc.edu

Program roles:  grower cluster development, sociology

Scott Sanford

Distinguished Outreach Specialist
UW-Madison, Department of Biological Systems Engineering
sasanford@wisc.edu

Program roles:  harvesting, post-harvest processing

University of Minnesota

Lois Braun

Research Scientist
UMN, Department of Agronomy and Plant Genetics
brau0259@umn.edu

Program roles:  UMHDI Co-Leader, germplasm improvement, agronomics

Jerry Cohen

Professor of Horticulture
UMN, Department of Horticultural Science
cohen047@umn.edu

Program roles:  propagation, metabolomics of eastern filbert blight resistance

Mark Esler

Researcher
UMN, Department of Horticultural Science
eslerm@umn.edu

Program roles:  propagation

Reneta Pincelli-Souza

Post-Doctorate Associate
UMN, Department of Horticultural Science
rpincell@umn.edu

Program roles:  propagation

Molly Tillmann

PhD Graduate Student
UMN, Department of Horticultural Science
mkreiser@umn.edu

Program roles:  propagation

Don Wyse

Professor
UMN, Department of Agronomy and Plant Genetics
wysex001@umn.edu

Program roles:  germplasm improvement, industry development, agronomics

Ohio State University

Devin Peterson

Director
OSU Flavor Research and Education Center
peterson.892@osu.edu

Program roles:  flavor chemistry

Xue Wang

PhD Graduate Student
OSU, Flavor Research and Education Center
wang.7853@osu.edu

Program roles:  chemistry of bitterness in hazelnuts

Knight Hollow Nursery

Brent McCown

Hazelnut Researcher
Knight Hollow Nursery
mccowns@tds.net

Program roles:  propagation, liner production